Casey Medal awarded to Tom and Diane Wilfrid

Posted on March 31, 2015

Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania Award

For their work for the Charlotte W. Newcombe Foundation, Executive Director Tom Wilfrid and Program Officer Diane Wilfrid were selected by the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania (AICUP) for its 2015 Robert P. Casey Medal for Commitment to Independent Higher Education. According to the letter of congratulations written by AICUP President Don L. Francis, “This award is given to individuals who work in areas outside the academy, yet have contributed their time, talent, and treasure to strengthen independent institutions of higher education in an especially meaningful way.”

President Barbara Mistick of Wilson College nominated Tom and Diane and presented the award at the annual meeting of AICUP at the Hershey Hotel in Hershey, PA. At least ten presidents of Newcombe-funded institutions were among approximately one hundred people present for the dinner.

The Newcombe Foundation currently funds and supports the programs at fifteen of the eighty-nine AICUP institutions and an additional thirteen have been funded at some point in the past. The combined CWNF funding for these twenty-eight institutions totaled $10,747,166 as of 2014-15.

Other award recipients at this event included former Pennsylvania Governor Ed Rendell and Tom Kepple, President Emeritus of Juniata College.

Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Pennsylvania Award

Left to right: President Carl Strikwerda, Elizabethtown College; President Barbara Mistick, Wilson College; Tom; President Rosalie Mirenda, Neumann University; President Bryon Grigsby, Moravian College; Diane; Tony Mirenda (spouse of Rosalie); President Jim Harris, Widener University; President Carmen Twillie Ambar, Cedar Crest College; Director of Foundation Relations Margaret Light, Wilson College; President Kevin Gillespie, Saint Joseph’s University; and President Keith Taylor, Gannon University

CLICK HERE to download as a PDF.